African Press International (API)

"Daily Online News Channel".

The other ODM splinter group of Raila Odinga to choose their flag bearer

Posted by African Press International on September 1, 2007

Publication Date: 8/31/2007

Details of how ODM delegates will choose the flagbearer from five aspirants emerged yesterday.

William ole Ntimama and secretary-general Anyang Nyongo, receive Dr Amukowa Anangwe (second right) at the party headquarters after he defected from New Kanu yesterday.

The 4,200 delegates at Kasarani could vote straight and the candidate who emerges with a bigger number of votes becomes the presidential candidate.

The alternative will be to vote for five line-ups and the candidate of the team with the highest votes becomes the torchbearer.

The team system will be complete with preferred names of the five candidates for various offices if the party wins to form the next government.

The delegates will be presented with five choices with one leader as the presidential candidate, another vice-president and the other a prime minister, the Nation has learnt.

The five choices will see presidential aspirants Najib Balala, Musalia Mudavadi, Joseph Nyaga, Raila Odinga and William Ruto alternating as presidential candidates.

However, there will be only three positions meaning that in each of the five teams, two people will be left out.

Arranged alphabetically

The delegates will be asked to vote for the their candidates whose names have been arranged alphabetically.

In the first team, A, Mr Balala is proposed as the presidential candidate, Mr Mudavadi (vice-president) and Mr Odinga (prime minister).

Team B has Mr Mudavadi as the presidential candidate, Mr Odinga as his running mate and Mr Ruto, prime minister.

The third, C, puts Mr Nyaga as the presidential candidate, Mr Mudavadi (VP), while Mr Odinga takes the position of premier.

In team D, Mr Odinga will be the president, Mr Mudavadi vice-president while Mr Ruto will be the prime minister.

The last, E, has Mr Ruto as president, Mr Mudavadi as his running mate and Mr Odinga the prime minister.

Sources said five presidential candidates agreed after a series of meetings that delegates vote for a team to retain the unity of the party rather than individuals, to minimise a fallout after the exercise.

Another source argued that if the delegates were to vote for an individual, it could leave the party divided as supporters of some of the candidates could walk out.

Some of the positions the ODM team is expected to create are not in the Constitution.

The party has also hinted that it will create an additional position of vice-president and two deputy prime ministers.

And differences have emerged over the agenda of the delegates conference.

The Nation learnt that MPs from Rift Valley and Western provinces are questioning why elections of new officials is not part of the agenda.

Refused to disclose

Sources told the Nation that the two provinces want the current officials, led by secretary general Tony Chege and vice chairman Mugambi Imanyara, replaced.

Yesterday, ODM secretary-general Anyang Nyongo, who addressed journalists after a National Executive Council/Parliamentary group meeting at the party headquarters, refused to disclose how the ballot paper looked like.

The ballot is usually seen at voting hall even by delegates, Prof Nyongo said.

Separately, Mr Mudavadi, Mr Balala and Nyaga confirmed that all the five candidates would be in the race for the presidency but did not confirm the voting for various offices.

Some of the delegates are expected in Nairobi today.

Each delegate will be given Sh3,000 as transport allowance but there will be none for accommodation.

The party, however, said it still had a shortfall of Sh6 million for logistics, down from Sh8 million on Wednesday.

It was, however, confident of meeting the deficit by tomorrow.

Presidential nominations

The ODM NEC/PG also agreed to refund Mwingi North MP Kalonzo Musyoka and Dr Julia Ojiambo (nominated) Sh1 million they each had paid to take part in ODM-Kenya presidential nominations.

Westlands MP Fred Gumo said the Electoral Commission of Kenya had been requested to oversee the nominations.

Nambale MP Chris Okemo denied that Western Province leaders were unhappy with the list of delegates.

And the party received a major boost yesterday when New Kanu, through chairman Amukowa Anangwe, announced that it had joined the movement.

Lifted and published by Korir, API*APN tel +47 932 99 739 or +47 6300 2525

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: